Nominations open for 2004 USATF Mountain Runners of the Year

The Mountain/Ultra/Trail running (MUT) council of long distance running will select the 2004 USATF Mountain Runners of the year based on nominations received from interested athletes, coaches, and administrators involved in the sport. The following is the selection criteria for the 2004 USATF Mountain Runners of the Year:

- 1) Nominated athlete must show top results in US mountain/trail competitions for 2004 (November 1, 2003 through October 31, 2004) this will include mountain races (these may be on paved/gravel surfaces as long as there is significant elevation loss or gain) and trail races of varying lengths below the ultra distance. (There is a separate category to nominate USATF ultra runners of the year)
- 2) The nomination window includes the period: Nov 1, 2003 through Oct 31, 2004.
- 3) Show top results in international competitions for 2004
- 4) Be an ambassador for the sport athlete promotes and supports mountain running
- 5) Results from Teva US Mountain Running Team Selection races to be considered in 2004 these included Mount Washington, and the Teva Vail HillClimb (also the NACAC Mountain Running Championships).
- 6) Results from the USA National Trail Championships (Teva Spring Run Off in Vail, CO) and the USA Mountain Running Championships (Mount Washington)
- 7) Be a USATF member for 2004 athlete MUST have a current USATF membership
- 8) To be considered for the masters category, athlete must be a minimum of 40 years of age.

To nominate an athlete, send <u>BY NOVEMBER 1, 2004</u>, the following information to <u>trlrunner@aol.com</u> and <u>rbolt@emersonecologics.com</u>, and for masters also send a copy to <u>screel@montana.edu</u>. You can also fax a nomination to Nancy at (719) 573-4408:

Nominated athlete's name, age or birth date (if you know it), athlete contact information, brief bio, reason for nomination in 2004.

Nominations received by *November 1* will be considered in the selection process. After all nominations are compiled, the MUT council will vote (*by November 15*) for the mountain runner of the year from nominations received. The USATF Mountain Runners of the Year will be announced at the annual convention in Portland, OR on Friday, December 4. Should you have any questions about the procedure, please contact: Nancy Hobbs at trlrunner@aol.com or Richard Bolt at rbolt@emersonecologics.com.

History of the USATF Mountain Runner of the Year Award: In 1999, USATF for the first time recognized two athletes as USATF Mountain Runners of the Year. Colorado residents Danelle Ballengee, Dillon, and Matt Carpenter, Manitou Springs received their awards at the annual USATF convention in Los Angeles. In 2000, USATF presented USATF Mountain Runner of the year honors to Dave Dunham, MA and Cindy O'Neill, CO at the annual convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico. In 2001 Eric Morse, VT and Kari DiStefano, CO received the honor at the Mobile, Alabama USATF Convention. In 2002 masters runner of the year was introduced with Craig Fram and Kari DiStefano sharing the honors with Paul Low and Anita Ortiz garnering the open awards in Kansas City, KS. In 2003 Paul Low and Anita Ortiz were again the mountain runners of the year with Kari DiStefano and Bernie Boettcher earning the masters mountain runners of the year awards presented in Greensboro, SC.